The Perfect Writing Retreat

love books i pinterest I author den writing author's

We all need a little down time now and again. Since I’m between finishing books, this seemed like a good time for a fun post. I’m sure many writers, including myself, have dreamed about the perfect place to write. I’m working on getting it right.

So far I have two ideas. Either a castle home with a secret doorway behind a bookcase – this then leads to a keypad which opens another door with my comfy lair orrrr something like a treehouse with electricity, no leaks, carpet, furniture, internet, and the sound of rain on the roof in bad weather. Both are appropriate for me :).

Of course, being a student in the rather ugly city of Stoke, I have neither of these. I’ve made do with a collection of what-could-bes. Here’s a couple of my favourites:

author's den writing retreattreehouse tree house writing den author's retreatmagical writing retreat writer's author's den tree house treehouse tree-house wendy beautiful

I hope these give you some ideas for where you would most love to write (and doesn’t cause you to procrastinate too much). Of course, writing can happen almost anywhere (at least it can for those of us who don’t mind too much noise/run around with headphones and a music player).

As always, I’m on twitter: Holly Ice
And more of the pictures I like can be found here

Have a great day and feel free to share your ideas below!

  1. Ooh, I think I could write quite comfortably in that first picture!

  2. I agree with Rebecca, the first one. I tried to write in the 2nd one in 2002-3 and was hopelessly distracted by the jungle! I’m actually thinking of running one myself in the future, I was on FB discussing it, so am smiling here at the timing of your post x

  3. Interesting – appears it’s too much distraction. I think I’d find it inspiration but then I won’t know till I’ve tried it. I’ve thought of making a business of retreats too! đŸ™‚ I wanted to base them in Latvia – beautiful country. Could mix up walks and trails etc (days out) with writing time. I think it’s important to keep the creative juices going.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

crime writing solutions

Offering guidance and advice to writers of crime fiction.

Sally Bosco

Author of Dark Fiction

Damaris Young

Creative writing blog

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

Lightning Droplets

Little flecks of inspiration and creativity

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

